What I’m Doing This November

Standard

It should come to no surprise to my fellow writers out there, that I have big plans for November.  November is the magical month where people come together and plan events and contests to inspire writers to get their words out of their heads and onto paper.  I’ve been finishing up edits on previous manuscripts and getting in a lot of reading these past couple of weeks.  Also, I’ve been saying my goodbyes to my family and making sure there are activities and dinners planned to get them through the month without me.

I have aspirations to participate in THREE events this November.  I’m not trying to overwhelm myself, I’m just going to give my creativity an option on where it wants to settle itself in for the day.  That means some days my 1600 words for NaNoWriMo will need to look more like 3400 words when I’m skipping days to refresh my mind but keep the words flowing.

nano

National Novel Writing Month.  The event/contest where participants make a goal to write 50,000 words by the end of the month, which ends up being an almost complete, albeit very rough draft, of a new manuscript.  I’m already having fun reading the posts and adding buddies.  I’ve been through a few ideas on my chosen manuscript to work on, but I think I’ve finally decided on one.  I think…I have another day, right?

piboidmo2013-participant-214x131

Picture Book Idea Month is something I haven’t participated in in the past but I am SO looking forward to it.  Tara Lazar organized this event to inspire picture book writers to search for and recognize ideas in the world around them. All I have to do is write down one picture book idea a day.  I don’t have to write the whole book, just the idea.  Jenn Bower graciously shared a worksheet to use for the day that will add a few more details about my ideas, and I am very, very excited about this challenge.  The posts are coming daily on Tara’s blog and just reading those are making this all worth it.

prw-final

REUTS Publications has come up with their own November contest and as it says above, I’m In.  I’m so in.  It’s called Project REUTSway.  Instead of trying to write 50,000 words in one month, they will set up a series of short story prompts designed for an anthology that they will publish with the winning stories from the participants.  I have to admit, I haven’t written short stories before.  I usually have too many words.  But, that is why this is intriguing to me.  I really want to give it a try.  I know that this is meant to replace NaNo, but I want to try it as a supplemental project.

I may be crazy, but I don’t care.  November will be my ultra, super writing month and whether I win all the challenges or not, I will be focusing my creative powers toward the things that make me happy and I know I will feel like a winner no matter what.  Bring it on, November!

Leave a Reply

