On My Mind Monday: Oscars Edition

mind

On My Mind Monday is a new feature on my blog where every Monday I will mention a few things that are on my mind from that day or week.

Today’s edition is: Oscar Edition.

Me, like millions of others, obsessed over the Oscars last night.  I thought I would share what is still on my mind on the day after.

falls

J-Law sure knows how to make us all feel like she could be our best friend. No other person could become more likeable by falling down at a major awards show, but she does. I love her.

happyselfie

Best group photo ever! I love that all of these people seem like they are best friends and having so much fun. Just like a regular night out. So fun!

86th Annual Academy Awards - Arrivals

My favorite dress of the night. It was a hard choice, and she wasn’t even one of the nominees, I just love everything about it. The cut, color, fabric. All of it. Wish it was mine.

Actor Benedict Cumberbatch jumps behind U2 at the 86th Academy Awards in HollywoodBest photobomb ever. Ever. Makes you love ol’ Benedict even more. Like J-Law, that’s something I didn’t think was possible.

lead_largeAnd because this is my writing blog, I’ll end it on a writing-related note. I thought there were pieces of all of the acceptance speeches that I loved, but this line was the best:

“When I look down at this golden statue, may it remind me and every little child that no matter where you’re from your dreams are valid.” – Lupita Nyong’o

I’m not a little child anymore, but I love the message. My dreams are valid. Someday, my book(s) will be on the shelves. My words will be read by more than just family and a few close friends. Someday, my dreams will come true.

What’s on your mind today?

Leave a Reply

