Food For Thought Friday: Hummus

hummus

 

I have a confession to make.

I am an addict.

I’m addicted to hummus.

Seriously, though. I eat hummus EVERY day.

This writer dips crackers in her hummus.

This writer dips veggies in her hummus.

This writer’s kids dip pretzels in their hummus (I’m so not a pretzel fan)

This writer spreads it on a tortilla with black beans and salsa.

This writer spreads it on a whole wheat roll with turkey and spinach.

I could go on…but this is already long. So, as you can tell, hummus is the snack/meal accessory that never gets boring.

I buy my hummus at Costco because they have the 32 oz tub for 5.95 (sometimes cheaper).

But, I also love to make homemade hummus and a friend gave me an unbeatable recipe years ago that is my go-to recipe:

Hummus

1 16 oz can of garbanzo beans (or 1/2 can garbanzo 1/2 can black)

2 cloves of garlic

3 Tbsp tahini

2/3 tsp cumin

1/4 cup olive oil

Juice from a half of a lemon

Put all ingredients in food processor and blend until smooth. May be stored in an airtight container for a month.

I’m not promising it will last that long, though.

Help an addict out … How do you eat your hummus?

Leave a Reply

