What I’m Reading Wednesday: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

wewereliars

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

 

Oh my goodness! How do you not read that and want to pick up this book and see what the ending is right away?

I sure did. And I couldn’t put this book down. My kids were neglected. So was my husband. But this book was not.

And it fully deserved it.

This is my first E. Lockhart book that I have read, so I can’t compare it to her other books, but this book oozes beauty and brutality. It is Brutiful.

The writing is poetic, but not in a way that will turn young adult readers away from the thrilling story underneath. Lockhart pulls you in and under into an aristocratic family that knows they are not what they portray to the world.

Cady is the narrator- an unreliable one because she has amnesia-but I really grew to love being inside her head, however painful her migraines were or however frustrating her confusion was.

The way she saw things, said things and changed herself and those around her was YA contemporary written to perfection.

(Side note: This lovely article from LA Times written by E. Lockhart to promote the LA Times Book Festival tells so much about the author and how her YA mind almost never was.)

Lockhart writes the themes of love, loss and living up to others expectations flawlessly and by the time the book is over, the reader feels like they have been spending summers on their private island, surviving family battles and first love, and seeing the real world for the first time.

I can’t say enough how much I loved this book. Even though I know the ending now, I will read it again. And again.

I loved the characters, the seeping darkness, and all the painful, beautiful words.

I loved We Were Liars.

Leave a Reply

